Derby League (3 of 5) – 18.11.12

Skylark Express steams along the track!



Not one of Laurel View’s busiest days, but those who made it to the November league of the Indoor Derby League, were able to try out their sat nav skills on the testing track.  Two friendly gnomes were even on hand to urge candidates on and point them in the right direction!


Deborah Geddis on Twinkle Toes, stepped into 1st place in the 60cm after a speedy jump off against Jeronamo and Emma Louise Gourley.


The Castletown Lad and Miriam Wright rode a smashing round in the 70cm to claim the red rosette outright, leaving Louise Craig and Roberta Bradbury on Lass and Jimmy Choo to ride it out to decide who got the blue, in the end it was Jimmy Choo.


The 85cm competition was just as exciting with Tamara McErlain, Kathy Delargy and Emma Fleming successfully steering Rosie, Skylark Express and Ralph respectively round the jumps without a fault, leaving it down to the jump off to decide.  When Tamara and Rosie picked up four faults, it was up to Kathy and Emma to see who could get clear over the jumps fastest and living up to a name Skylark Express secured the title.


Kathy Delargy and Skylark Express, kept their engine running to speed round the metre to take home the red for it as well.


It wasn’t the brightest of days but the Equi-Tog photographer still managed to capture the competitors in action.


The November Derby was the last for 2012, but the league continues in 2013 on 27th January, followed by the final when the cash prizes will be earned on Sunday 3rd March. The competition begins on both dates at 12.30pm with the 60cms, before moving on up through the league classes.


To find out more about this or any of the many other Laurel View activities add to your favourites or give the office a ring on 028 9083 0649.



Derby (3of 5) – 18.11.12



1st Twinkle Toes, Deborah Geddis; 2nd Jeronamo, Emma Louise Gourley.



1st The Castletown Lad, Miriam Wright; 2nd Jimmy Choo, Roberta Bradbury; 3rd Lass, Louise Craig.



1st Skylark Express, Kathy Delargy; 2nd Ralph, Emma Fleming; 3rd Rosie, Tamara McErlain; 4th Orion, Michelle Hagan; 5th What a Wizard, Simon Wylie.



1st Skylark Express, Kathy Delargy.